2018 Rally Challenge Round 6 – Red Kite Series

Current Challenge leaders Dylan Davies & Llion Williams

FMP Challenge contenders took victory on both the two and four wheel drive categories of the Red Kite Stages. Amman and District Motor Club brought the event from its traditional base in Llandovery to the Neath Valley and Margam forests.

Dylan Davies and Llion Williams took the Subaru to a 70 second victory making it the second year that they had won this event.

Osian Pryce drove a Rally Xtreme Escort Mk.2 for a second time this year and judging by the in car footage of Stage One, they loved every minute. His co-driver Dale Furniss celebrated a double victory after competing and taking victory in the driver’s seat in the Pacemaker Rally all night before arriving in Resolven for the Red Kite.

Osian is doing selected events this year rather than concentrate on a Championship but registered for the Challenge to help raise the profile of Wales Air Ambulance. His success today means that he has taken victory on events in front and rear wheel drive, and four wheel drive cars during his short rallying career.

Two Wheel Drive winner Osian Pryce

Steve Deeley & Alan Proudman

Barry Jordan & Paul Wakely

Steve Deeley moves into joint second with reigning champion Will Mains in the Peugeot 205 GTI and Barry Jordan / Paul Wakely’s result in the Avenger takes Paul to a joint lead with Llion Williams.

Despite retiring, Kalvin Green still retains the Junior Driver lead over Osian Pryce.

Barry and Seyyan John

Amman DMC members Barry and Seyyan John also had a successful weekend when they competed in their Subaru on the Ravens Rock Rally in Southern Ireland. Their overseas points for third in Class take the couple to 9th and 6th points wise.

Looking ahead, Pembrokeshire MC’s JD Tyres Bob Shaw Memorial Stages at Brawdy has attracted a massive quality entry and a Class win for reigning FMP Champion driver Will Mains will see him edge ahead.  Current leading co-driver Paul Wakely is favourite to take the Championship lead. Former Two Seats Trophy winner Ian Taylor co-drives in Car 1. The venue is not open to members of the public.

FMP Contender Nev Jones with Rhys Stoneman


Points after Round 6, The Red Kite Stages, Including Nominated Overseas Rounds.


Dylan Davies 88

Steve Deeley 65.

Will Mains 65****

Nev Jones 61.

Dave Brick 60.

Perry Gardener 60.

Owen McMackin 60.

Richard Merriman 60.

Kalvin Green J 59

Barry Jordan 58.

Colin Griffiths 55.

Osian Pryce J 54.

Iuean Rowlands 54.

Barry John 52.******

Owen McOnochie J 52.

David Jones 49.

Peter Jones 49.

Bob Vardy 48.

Dan Moss 47.

David Lloyd Roberts 47.

Martyn England 46*

Julian Reynolds 45.

Damien Pratts 44.

Mike Pugsley 43*****

Robert Bradley 42.

Tony Rees 42*.

Jonathan Davies 35.

Melvyn Evans 30.

Carl Fricker 30.

Roger Thomas 30.

Mike Jewell 28.

Chris Ransley 28

Matthew Bowyer 26.

Stuart Jacobs 26.

Martin Laverty 26.

Sean Jones 24.

Harry Gardner 23.

Ivor James 22.

Mark Booth 21.

Philip Clarke 21.

Kristian Wright 21.

Simon De Banke 20.

Steffan Daniels 5.

Oliver Hopkins 5.

Philip Hopkins 5.

Chris Jones 5.

Osian Jones 5.

Wyn Jones 5.

Alex Moore 5.

Marcus Padgett 5.

Sara Williams 5**

Not yet competed

Dai Lloyd. Andy Manley.


Paul Wakely 88.

Llion Williams 88.

Osian Owen J 84.

Clive (Selwyn) Jones 75.

Alan Proudman 65.

Toby Brick 60.

Kath Curzon 60.

Lee Taylor J 60.

Seyyan John 57.******

Emyr Hall 54.

Patrick Walsh 53**

Rhodri Williams J 52.

Mike Gilbey 50.

Jonny ‘Tad’ Evans 49.

Graham Joseph 49.

Glyn Price 49.

Sam Allen J 47

Dei Jones 47.

Dawn England 46*

Kevin Booth 42.

Geraint Thomas 42*

Marc Clatworthy 35***

Aled Edwards 31.

Theresa Fossey 30.

Mark Glennerster 30.

Arfon Griffiths 30.

Ian Jones 27.

Dale Clatworthy 26.

Phil Kenny 26.

Matthew Russ 26.

Lewis Griffiths J 25.

Richard Suter 24.

Elliot Graham  J  23.

Rob Billingham 22.

David Hodge 21.

Pauline Merrills 21.

Sion Williams  J  15.

Chris Davies 5.

Emyr Evans 5.

Richard Evans 5.

Arwel Jenkins 5

Sion Jones 5.

Ian Taylor 5.

Jason Thomas 5.

Including overseas points scored on-

*West Cork Rally. **Rallye Le Touquet. ***Manx National Rally ****Carlow Mk.2 Challenge. *****Rallye Van Wervik.

****** Ravens Rock Rally

Equal points currently listed alphabetically

J = Junior contenders

Seven best scores to count.

No minimum amount of rounds to enter.


Ist Overall – 30     1st in Class – 30      2nd – 28     3rd – 26     4th – 24 5th –  23   6th – 22   7th – 21   8th – 20   9th – 19    10th –  18      11th – 17   12th – 16   13th – 15  14th – 14    15th – 13   16th – 12   17th – 11    18th – 10    19th – 9    20th – 8

Non – finish – 5